Skip to main content


Signed and dated copies of board meeting minutes are available by contacting the superintendent’s office at (253) 583-5190 or


Regular Meeting/Workshop of the Board
Student Services Center, Room 18
10903 Gravelly Lake Dr. SW, Lakewood,WA 98499
April 24, 2017

Present: President Marty Schafer, Vice President Carole Jacobs, Becki Kelley, Joe Vlaming and Debbie LeBeau

Not Present: Paul Wagemann

4:00p.m. President Schafer called to order the Regular Meeting/Workshop of the Board.



Superintendent LeBeau introduced Program Supervisor Venetia Willis-Holbrook who presented the Open Doors Youth Engagement Program update. The superintendent was impressed that Ms. Willis-Holbrook used the same process as our schools to develop a vision and mission statement. The program also follows the safe and civil schools model.

Ms. Willis-Holbrook shared that the Open Doors program is housed at Clover Park High School and offers morning and afternoon sessions for students. It uses a blended learning model with highly-qualified teachers that support student learning using the Engenuity online curriculum. The program is personalized and flexible and offers success counseling for students.

Students in the program are engaged in community activities such as volunteering at the Caring for Kids Ready to Learn fair and citywide holiday fair. Students also read to Tyee Park students on Dr. Seuss' Birthday and developed a leadership and volunteer group.

Ms. Willis-Holbrook shared how the Open Doors program was developed to align with state law and OPSI regulations. The district submitted an initial one-year application for the 2015-16 school year, and the application was reapproved in 2016 for three years, through the 2018-19 school year.

The demographics of students enrolled in the Open Doors program mirrors the overall demographics of the district. Ms. Willis-Holbrook reported that staff demographics indicate approximately 30 percent of staff have diverse backgrounds. She reported that teacher experience ranged from 2 to 10 years.

Clover Park School District has a partnership with Graduation Alliance that provides flexible online educational programs for students. The district programs include the Open Doors Youth Engagement Program and Alternative Learning Experience (ALE) online programs at both Lakes and Clover Park high schools.

The online Graduation Alliance requirements for the Open Doors and ALE programs differ. Open Doors students must be 16-21, not enrolled in high school classes for basic education, identified as credit deficient, identified as Open Doors students, and meet Washington State graduation requirements. The ALE students must be high school students, may not be credit deficient, identified as Lakes or Clover Park students, and must meet Clover Park School District graduation requirements.

In June 2017, the district projects 25 graduates from the Open Doors program. Overall it's been a successful program.

5:40p.m. President Schafer called recess for the Board for approximately 30 minutes.

6:15p.m. The meeting resumed.


The Board discussed its community engagement goal. There was dialog on the formation of a Community Engagement Leadership Team (CELT). The CELT will be a District led outreach to build partnerships with key individuals in the community with focus on district initiatives, collaboration on mutual student needs and the development of shared measurable outcomes.

President Schafer and Vice President Jacobs will form a subcommittee to clarify the purpose of CELT. Assistant Superintendent for Elementary Schools Ron Banner was designated by the superintendent to work with the team. There will be more information at a future workshop.


••Executive Session

7:35 p.m. The Board recessed and moved into executive session for approximately 45 minutes to discuss personnel matters related to employee performance.

8:20p.m. Following its executive session, the Board reconvened. No members of the public were present, or had been since the public meeting was recessed. The meeting was adjourned.

Dr. Marty Schafer, President

Deborah L. LeBeau, Superintendent